Job interviews and federal jobs

Monarhistka

Reaction score
Good day!

I would like to hear advices/comments from anyone who is familiar with my situation. I’m profoundly deaf. I'm currently a college student, but in the summer of the next year I'll look for a job as a statistician. My problem is that I never had a real job but internships only. Therefore, I do not know how I would experience job interviews as a deaf person. English is not my native language (I was born in other country); hence, I do not speak English well and prefer to communicate in ASL.

I have some questions and would like to hear your answers:

1). I'm planning to look for a federal job as a statistician in the Bureau of Census or a similar department in New York City. (I already have U.S. citizenship, so citizenship would not be an issue.) If you work in the field of statistics or mathematics or have a federal job, please share your experience.

2). I suspect that it would be easier to find a federal job than a job in a private company. Do you agree?

3). I have the information that by law it is required to have an interpreter for job interviews, but the real life is more complex, of course. It is possible to tell an employer that you need an interpreter in advance before a job interview, but there is a risk of being rejected because of interpreter-related costs. I have heard that in order to avoid this issue some deaf employees hired an interpreter themselves. It is also possible to ask VR to help pay interpreter services, but this is not the best option in my situation because of the difficulty of obtaining services from VR I experienced in the past. Please tell your experience with job interviews and suggest the best strategy in getting interpreting services.

I would appreciate if you would answer to any question. Also, if you have any questions, please feel free to ask me.

Happy Holidays! :wave: