Why I'm here, and why I'm mad at all of you

Wiggee

Reaction score
Hi,

My name is Wiggy. I'm hearing. I'm a college student, studying to become a high school math teacher. I apologize for this long post, but I've been lurking for a few weeks, worked up the courage to register, and now have enough courage to post. Skip down to the dashes if you want to see why I'm "mad" at you :ty:

After some time off from college from being burned out, I finally worked up the gumption to pick up my education and become a teacher. I wanted to make a difference to students, so I'm trying to become the best teacher I can.

As part of my transfer, I realized I needed language credits. Having studied Latin a decade prior in high school, I wanted something that would be a little more useful in teaching students. Living in Texas, the obvious choice is Spanish, but I figured we had enough teachers who were bad at Spanish. So I decided to learn sign language. When I started last semester, I was almost completely ignorant of Deaf culture. I knew ASL was not English, and that it had different syntax, that it wasn't the same as BSL, and knew 24 letters (darn you, P and Q!) and 9 numbers.

So, my logic was: hey, I can sign while I'm doing math, and help some students out? Maybe when I have a deaf student, I can help him out while lecturing by not needing a "translator".

Hoo boy, no. I quickly realized I was in over my head. As we studied Deaf culture, I realized how much of this world I hadn't even thought of yet. Reading about oralist history and some teaching techniques made me cringe. I love the English language, and I found myself falling for ASL.

As a second semester student, I know my signing is terrible, and my vocabulary terrible. My grammar is terrible, but I'm working to improve it. Being timid doesn't help.

--------------