the world "dial"

A

apathrev

I'm sorry if this sounds completely ignorant and rude. I don't mean to be. But as a relay operator, I've seen the words "dial" and "redial," a majority of the time, is spelled "dail" and "redail." Is this a case of the user, not being able to hear the correct pronounciation of the word, assuming that the "a" comes before the "i" because that is a more common way of spelling as opposed to "ia"?

this could be because the user is dyslexic?
Or the user is just in a rush, and time is more important than self-correction?

Ever want a spellchecker installed in those TTYs and internet relays? :lol:

Haha. No spell check would be necessary. Most deaf users can spell better than the teenagers who call through relay, making prank calls. There hasn't been a case where I haven't been able to understand what the text user is saying, regardless of how bad spelling is.

As far as dyslexia, I see it too often for me to think it could be that. Even Nigerian scammers type "dail" instead of "dial." When a scammer is the case, I mess with their heads. (opr here are u asking for dail qq) ga.

Could it be these Nigerian scammers using these words dail or redail? I have never heard of this being common in Deaf Community unless some people get lazy which has nothing to do with Deaf Culture?

No, it is not solely scammers. I'm sorry if this is off topic. Please move it to where you feel it would be best suited. I was just curious about the confusion of the word.

I don't mess up "dial" myself ... hmmm ok that's because I usually type something like "pls call jon at 123-4567 ga"