student midwife interested in your stories of pregnancy & childbirth

studentmidwife

Reaction score
Hi all :wave:

I'm a student midwife, interested in the pregnancy, childbirth & early parenthood experiences of deaf & HOH parents.

The life changing transition to parenthood is a positive challenge to everybody, so with potential for additional communication barriers caused by hearing impairments, I can only imagine how overwhelming yet magical your journey was/is!

I am interested in your story. The support, services, and care offered to you as deaf or HOH individuals throughout pregnancy, labour, and during the post-natal period. Whether you experienced exceptional care, or were less than satisfied with your treatment, I'd love to hear from you! What did your midwives do to make your pregnancy & childbirth memorable? Good & bad!

My aim is to improve the quality of care I can offer to deaf & HOH families during pregnancy and childbirth by reflecting upon your experiences and learning from them. Of course, your stories will remain confidential and anonymised within my work. If you'd like to get in touch to kindly share your experiences with me, please reply to this thread and I will send you my email address. Thanks guys! Enjoy your bumps & bundles of joy! X

when had my children i was still hearing but have known of some awful stories deaf women in labour also some good things.Birth is only as good as the people on duty that day.There are some protercols put in place mostly common sense and what you need no two women labour the same way

Thank you both for your replies.

I completely agree that anybody's birth experience is only as good as the midwives on shift... that sums up the very reason that i intend to learn BSL and hear some of your experiences of good/bad maternity practice to learn from, as I want to be the best midwife I can be!