So, how long did it take to fine-tune *your* HAs?

Jodster

Reaction score
How long did it take to tune *your* HAs?

I got my very first HA last Wednesday: an Oticon Synchro. It's just for the right ear; my left is shot.

Right now, I'd give the hearing improvement a 7 out of 10. I have an appt Wednesday to huddle with an audiologist and fine-tune the settings.

So, as the title sez, how long has it taken others to get your new HAs the way you want them? Or is it an ongoing, non-stop process?

Yours in curiosity :gossip:

Jodster

Last edited:
Jodster,

I've been wearing hearing aids for 20 years and can tell you that yes, it is an ongoing process that gets better over time. Some people are lucky enough to benefit from their aids immediately while others must work awhile to find hearing aids, program settings and/or earmolds that help them hear best.

One of the most important things you can do to ensure good hearing aid programming/adjustment is to communicate with your audi by telling him/her what you're hearing with your aids. (i.e. what you like/don't like about the sound of your aids -- Do sounds cut in and out? Are they uncomfortably loud? When you talk, does your voice sound like it's in a barrel? Do you hear feedback (squealing) when you turn the volume control on your aids too high? etc.) Unless you communicate these things to your audi, there is no way he/she can make the necessary changes in order to provide you with the best hearing possible.