Part 1 finished

Behappy

Reaction score
I had the implant surgery last Tuesday 11/21, so now I am on my way to electronic ear.
I have been wearing HA's for 20+ years and my hearing has steadily degraded. 2 years ago I started researching cochlear implants (because my insurance covers them). My audi at the time told me that I was not yet a candidate and I needed a pair of high end HA's (paid for out of my pocket).

After 1 year of twice monthly adjustments, they retested my hearing and magically I am now a candidate. ( I also got to a new audiologist)
As the other poster noted, I have studied everything for almost two years and was still kinda nervous surgery day. They kept me in pre-op 2 hours more because of an emergency, no big thing for me. Then they came in and said they were going to start. They put a shot in my IV...
and I woke up in recovery. They have 2 recovery stages, they kept me in recovery 1 for 2 hours (the usual is 1 hour), and my wife was having a fit. When they moved me into recovery 2, I could have visitors. I was still under the influence and I was having a time opening the eye toward the surgery. When I got my senses back, I realized my turban was on tight and pushing down on my eye.

We stayed in a hotel room on site because we had to see the doctor in the morning to remove the bandages. later that night my ear side was really sore, but I expected that. When we went in the next morning they took off the turban and what a relief! It wasn't pushing on my eye and my ear was folded over and the bandage was pushing on it. The doc that undid me said that was normal.

I have been home, the doc. said 2 weeks with no lifting, bending or heavy work (nurse Ratchet is making sure of that (just kidding)). Been having a dull head and ear ache and trying to not blow my nose or sneeze. The sofa has been my friend, hoping to start getting out soon. Can't wait until Aday!