Looking for help for a video project

xoxo_bubbles

Reaction score
Hi, my name's Haley. I am hearing, I'm also learning ASL. I'm taking classes online.
A while back I was at the pool with a few of my friends and there were a few deaf kids our age there too. In my area there really aren't many deaf people, so a lot of people didn't know what to do. They just kinda stared like Jesus Himself had come back and was swimming in the pool and they didn't know what to do. I don't really know exactly what happened, but I remember hearing a guy yelling (he was hearing) and he was apparently trying to get one of the girl's attention. He startled her and she was signing things to him that he didn't understand, so one of the deaf boys tried to communicate with him better.
The hearing guy punched him in the face.

I just couldn't believe it. I couldn't believe that someone could do something like that just because they couldn't understand the way that person was communicating with them.
I work as a waitress and there used to be a deaf couple that came in every so often, and every time they came in the servers used to try to pass them off to someone else. They became my regulars and were some of the sweetest people (and best tippers!) that I've ever known. I hate that hearing people are so ignorant. I would really like to bring more awareness to the deaf community, and I wasn't sure what the best way was to do that. Being as there aren't many deaf people around here or even anyone who knows ASL I'm kind of in a bound.

What I really want to do was inspired by a performance I saw at a friend's church. Of course growing up we all learned the "church signs" for Jesus and cross and did a cute little song in our choir when we were 4 and 5, but THIS was spectacular. They took a contemporary christian song, and signed it out but they made it into a dance. Like a jump around, bang on the ground, swoosh backwards really awesome dance.