Loan signs for nicknames?

Cooter

Reaction score
I am new to this site, and to ASL. My friend works with a HoH person, she says people sometimes incorporate names with signs. For example, her name is Jen and she likes to sing, so the HoH person signs sing with a 'J.' Is this common amongst the deaf community?

P.S. I appologize if that is not a loan sign by definition. Like I said, I am new to ASL.

I am new to this site, and to ASL. My friend works with a HoH person, she says people sometimes incorporate names with signs. For example, her name is Jen and she likes to sing, so the HoH person signs sing with a 'J.' Is this common amongst the deaf community?

P.S. I appologize if that is not a loan sign by definition. Like I said, I am new to ASL.

No not really.

Apparently Jen likes to sing- so therefore her name sign is the letter 'J' + sing.

As long as she got the sign by another deaf individual in the Deaf community.

It's a cultural no-no if you came up with a name sign for yourself that wasn't given to you by a deaf person.

Thanks for the response.

You said it's 'a cultural no-no to make a sign for yourself that wasn't given by a deaf person.' Why is that so? It seems you're implying that Deaf people have "authority" to create signs, where hearing people don't. Is this a generally accepted rule amongst the Deaf community?

Thanks for the response.

You said it's 'a cultural no-no to make a sign for yourself that wasn't given by a deaf person.' Why is that so? It seems you're implying that Deaf people have "authority" to create signs, where hearing people don't. Is this a generally accepted rule amongst the Deaf community?

More like making sure that the sign name is okay. What if you came up with a sign name for yourself that is almost embarrassing? That is not a sign name you would want to be stuck with.

Oh

Thank you for clearing that up. I could see myself accidentaly insulting someone or embarrassing myself with a sign I made up. :D