Landing job difficulty......

bookywebbymad

Reaction score
Sorry, wasn't sure which sub-forum to put this topic in.....

Do any of you hold "decent" job? Meaning not jobs that make less than, say for example 50,000? If so, what kind of jobs do you hold?

This is the first time I've ever participated in a "deaf" forum so to speak..........

I'm hard of hearing, I speak normally, it's the listening that gets me. I can converse reasonably well, provided there's no background noise and it's one on one. Anything else, I'm lost. I can't handle phones at all, and I hate the TTY, never used it as matter of fact. The only phone that I kind of use is the Cap-Tel phone that I recently got in Janauary. It's ok. I don't know how to sign. Nor do I want to learn.

I graduated last year from a fifth-tier college, and still haven't landed a job! I have no special skills, which is my own fault.

I'm really desperate for a job now.....I mean, I need health insurance and so on.....or want it. Starbucks has this great program where they even provide it to their part time workers, but the interactions with the customers, I couldn't handle it!

And the admin. jobs? OMG. They require phones, phones, and phones!

What's a gal to do???????????? Any advice would be really appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've applied to retail jobs but since I have like no job history, so even retail jobs are really hard to land. It's so depressing the idea of working at Target........makes you look like such a loser. Though, I've kind of reached to the point where I'm considering it.

I don't know. I've never really interacted with other hearing impaired people, cause a) I don't know sign lanaguage, and b) was intimidated it by it, of sorts.

Any job advice? And no I don't say that I'm hard of hearing on the resumes.

I'm not hoh, but here's a question I'd ask of anyone: