Intra-Uterine Device (IUD)

Giulia

Reaction score
Hello everybody
Since I found no matching topic, I create this one.

What is anyone's experience with IUD ? I had no chldren, but I can't bear any progestative birth control pill, and combinated ones (oestroprogestatives) are forbidden (told me the ENT doc).
So what is your experience with IUD ?

Thanks for your reply

I had an IUD put in after my Second child. For 6 years. It was a ten year copper IUD. Then it was removed.

After that I decided to get my tubes tied due to my age and not wanting more children.

Are you considering getting one, or do you already have one??

I had an IUD put in after my Second child. For 6 years. It was a ten year copper IUD. Then it was removed.

After that I decided to get my tubes tied due to my age and not wanting more children.

Are you considering getting one, or do you already have one??
I don't consider having children yet for 2 reasons :
1) I have no fiance, I am currently studying and living with my mother
2) the most important reason, I may lose my hearing if I get pregnent.

So I consider having an IUD because BC pill with oestrogens is forbidden for me (told me the ENT doc, it's oto-toxic) and progestative BC pill prevent me to sleep.

Thanks for your reply :)

How can pregnancy will cause your hearing to go?
If I were you I'd ask for 2nd option. To see if that's true or just crazy speculation.
And I'm on progestrone only bc (depo provera shot) and I don't see any "insomnia" as side effect and I sleep like a baby.
Also its not end of world if you did lose your hearing, I don't think its worth it to keep what's left by not having child, what do you have to look forward to? You probably will lose your hearing no matter what because there's other thing, aging. When you get a lot older your hearing goes away.