I want to get a CI for my right side but...?

HerNameWasHanna

Reaction score
Okay, so I want to get a Cochlear Implant for my right ear since I already have one on my left but the surgery and getting a processor is already so expensive - my mom can't afford it.

When I was seven months, I was diagnosed with meningitis and lost all my hearing by the time I was two. My hearing aids weren't helping so we got rid of those and tried to teach me sign language but being the stubborn little girl I was, it was unsuccessful so eventually I got surgery and got a cochlear implant by the time I was three. I'm fifteen now so I've been hearing (with multiple processors) for about twelve years.

The reason why I want to get a Cochlear Implant is because I feel that if I had two, then I would be able to hear better as I already have trouble communicating with even my family members who are not deaf. Being deaf isn't genetic for us, either. Well, my aunt is deaf too but her's isn't as bad even though she has finally gotten around to wearing hearing aids again.

I've always wanted two processors ever since I found out that you could when one of my deaf friends had two (I went to a deaf school with her as a very young child). I've told my mom multiple times but we always moved on when we stated that it was too much or something. Is there a way to get another processor? What do you think I should do?

If you want to go bilateral, contact a CI Center and take it from there. If you have insurance coverage they can possibly help with paying for a 2nd CI. You would need to go through surgery again to get the implant in the other ear, and get both CIs working together.

Have you contacted your ENT doctor about your belief of the "potential improvement" in having a second Cochlear implant? Perhaps there was some explanation why it wasn't done back 12 years ago?

I am well aware of the total cost of Cochlear Implants- $55,000.00 CDN 4 1/2 years ago when I was Implanted with only one.