Hi from France!

lucyinthesky

Reaction score
Hello,

I am hearing but I've been involved with Deaf culture for some time now...and now I just found out my baby daughter is HOH and may go deaf (I had a virus while I was pregnant so no one can say whether she will go deaf or just stay HOH). Anyway, I am American but I live in France...and, long story short (not too short!) I started learning ASL in high school, then moved to the UK where I learned some BSL, then back to the US where I started ASL again, but spent several months working at a deaf school in Ecuador and then later spent a year in India...so I sign mostly ASL but not a very pure form since I keep moving around and meeting deaf people (often friendlier than hearies to foreign people!)

So I am kind of lost about what to do...I started using simple ASL with my baby but I wonder if I should invest my time in practicing ASL or start learning LSF (French sign) instead. So far I haven't had much luck finding an LSF tutor. I feel like France is behind in early intervention. I know that ASL comes from LSF but it seems to have changed a lot over the years - I have only seen a little LSF but I can already see that many basic signs are different. If my daughter starts learning ASL signs will it be confusing for her to switch to LSF when she starts school? If you're curious about LSF there are videos here, I hope you can view them from abroad:
Oeil et la main - France5

Just wondering if anyone had any advice. Thanks!

Hi and :welcome: to AD!

My suggestion would be go with ASL (if you are more comfortable using it than the other signed languages) so she can establish a strong first language and then use to to learn French, BSL, and English.