Help from other HOH people....

jm1972

Reaction score
Ugh.

I've been wearing hearing aids for 9 years now.

My mom has the hearing of a darned hawk, she can literally hear a pin drop.

A year ago, she had emergency surgery for a sudden medical condition. Since then, she has some memory problems. Including forgetting how to communicate with me!

So today she sends me another link for Dept of Community Health links to help "HOH/Deaf" find jobs.

I tried a bartending job last week (with my new training) and did fine, minus 1 customer who I had to explain "Hey, I'm hearing impaired, can I ask you to speak up a little" during casual conversation. After that, no problem. Music in the background and everything.

My mom is the only person who is not satisfied with my hearing aids.

When I visit...her b/f is HOH and does not wear hearing aids. He has the TV blasting. Or is yelling into the phone. She tries to talk to me from 2 rooms away, my back turned to her, and gets upset that I didn't hear her...

How I can gently remind her...mom, face me...and I can't hear from two rooms away over a blasting TV.....

welcome to AD, I've been wearing hearing aids since I was an infant (6 months old)
you can always remind your mom in a nice, polite way :)

Ugh.

A year ago, she had emergency surgery for a sudden medical condition. Since then, she has some memory problems. Including forgetting how to communicate with me!

So today she sends me another link for Dept of Community Health links to help "HOH/Deaf" find jobs.

I tried a bartending job last week (with my new training) and did fine, minus 1 customer who I had to explain "Hey, I'm hearing impaired, can I ask you to speak up a little" during casual conversation. After that, no problem. Music in the background and everything.