Hello I am new to this

madkitten

Reaction score
HI my name is Sue I have joined this forum to meet with people who understand how I am feeling .I have Menieres Disease >I have been getting attacks for over a year now with periods of not being able to hear. But now I have lost most of my hearing I have not had a good day in months. I have been given a hearing aid and at first I was getting the hang of it even making phone calls. Then this last week something else has happened to my hearing even with my hearing aid everything sounds like I am the bottom of a swimming pool and every one else is above the water .Its a struggle to understand anything.
I feel isolated… every one is having conversations around me .They do I know get fed up repeating them selves, they try not to show it but you can read it in their faces. Some times they laugh at me because I have not understood .I miss music .TV subtitles are most of the time rubbish .I have a family I love but sometimes I think I would be better on my own .

Last edited:
Hi madKitten.. Welcome to AD. This is a wonderful place to hang out with members who are made up of deaf, HOH, late-deafened , and so on with many different views on life and deaf culture.

I have Meniere's disease for 3 yrs like you have. I know how you feel as it is so frustrating for me too. One day I can hear then next day I can't hear at all ? It's really annoying. I am going for CI as I have progessive hearing loss.

I hope you will find this forum enjoyable. So happy posting away!!! :)

Hi madKitten.. Welcome to AD. This is a wonderful place to hang out with members who are made up of deaf, HOH, late-deafened , and so on with many different views on life and deaf culture.

I have Meniere's disease for 3 yrs like you have. I know how you feel as it is so frustrating for me too. One day I can hear then next day I can't hear at all ? It's really annoying. I am going for CI as I have progessive hearing loss.