Greetings and Salutations!

kg2789

Reaction score
Hi there all, my name is Kayla. I became interested in ASL about two years ago when I found out I was expecting my first child. I decided I wanted to go to school, and start learning so that I could teach him, and we'd have a special way of communicating before he could ever talk. Well, since I started learning, my son has been diagnosed with epilepsy. Recently, he's failed 4 hearing tests, and we're waiting to get into Akron Children's Audiology department for a brain stem test, which he has to be sedated for, to find out if he's actually going deaf or not. Regardless, I have everyone in my family hounding me to get him implants if he can not benefit from just hearing aids. Personally, I would not care if my son was deaf or not. I just hate the constant pressure of everyone telling me that he needs to hear. Of course people are going to say that, considering they've had their hearing all their lives... I just find it rather difficult, especially being so comfortable with Deaf individuals, and their opinions matter to me as well. Would they think differently of me if I chose to get my son cochlear implants? Even though I'm still encouraging getting a Deaf Educational Teacher to help him more with sign language? What are some of your opinions?

get the implants. and do the signs both. why throw away the chance of the kid being able to develop his hearing as much as possible. i lost my hearing at 1 years old so i know what i am missing. but i have also got along ok with being deaf.