Going into IT

ChocolateMILK

Reaction score
If there is anybody out there who is in the IT business, whether its from security, networking, programming, or even web page building, can you give me some advice?

The most widely given advice I have received thus far is to 'network with other people'.

Right now, I am just starting out. I am taking Intro to Java, Intro to XHTML/HTML, and finally system analyst and design.

So do you have any advice? Any would be appreciated!

Thanks

Wirelessly posted

I am currently taking classes in college, getting associate degree in network administration in IT field. I am hoping to get diploma and then get CCENT Certification from Cisco. What IT field are you actually looking for

Wirelessly posted

I am currently taking classes in college, getting associate degree in network administration in IT field. I am hoping to get diploma and then get CCENT Certification from Cisco. What IT field are you actually looking for

I'm going into programming. It's pretty hard already. lol

Ha.

I am one of the IT majors.

You have to learn many different parts. Like:

Programming
- Quick Basic Programming
- Visual Basic Programming
- C++ (both Data structures and Object-oriented)
- Java
- HTML and Dynamic HTML (CSS, JavaScript)
- PHP
- SQL and PL/SQL

Networking and PCs
- Networking Basics
- PC Configuration
- Windows Admin
- Web Servers and ASP
- Linux Admin (ugh!)
- Firewalls
- Network Security
- Computer Forensics
- System Development
- Electricity and Electronics

Wirelessly posted

MDCodeRedFreak said:
Ha.

I am one of the IT majors.

You have to learn many different parts. Like:

Programming
- Quick Basic Programming
- Visual Basic Programming
- C++ (both Data structures and Object-oriented)
- Java
- HTML and Dynamic HTML (CSS, JavaScript)
- PHP
- SQL and PL/SQL

Networking and PCs
- Networking Basics
- PC Configuration
- Windows Admin
- Web Servers and ASP
- Linux Admin (ugh!)
- Firewalls
- Network Security
- Computer Forensics