Deafhood

iaskedalice09

Reaction score
Hi People,

I want to thank all of you for replying to my intro post. Seriously, that's really awesome to not feel left out or that somehow I am less Deaf because I'm oral and communicate orally.

I've been watching the Deaf greats (IMHO): Ricky Taylor, Ella Mae Lentz, Genie Gertz, and Barb DiGi. Please note I am new to this vlogging concept so that's why my "collection" isn't huge.

However. I take a sort of geeky pride in watching Ella sign about Deafhood. It's almost like, it's so totally me! In the hearing world but subconsciously still very Deaf. It inspires a really sappy Deaf *kiss-fist ASL* Deaf-in-my-gut feeling (that is the sign for deafhood, deaf gut).

However, the hearings think it is inaccurate to call myself Deaf. Actually, Mom encourages it and thinks it's great but the others just have very bigoted opinions about the Deaf community. I try to dissuade them but it's tiring. Deaf people are NOT all arrogant - some of them are but most of them are not! At least the ones I've met.

And I get people in both worlds that say I must choose one or the other. "Pick hearies, and you'll never feel as connected as with your other Deafies." "Pick Deaf, and you're throwing out your family, as well as the majority of the world." And it just makes me scream, because I want BOTH. Is that really possible, though? I've not seen any examples of it, I'm quite naive. Yet, I do have very capital D Deaf people who say I can be in both. Which? To be in both, does that mean you have two identities?

I really feel a sense of belonging with Deaf people, but I feel something for hearings too and not resentment. Granted, I do resent my speech pathologist but that's another rant. My parents, sister, brother -- all hearing. So all of my family is hearing and also very Italian, so we're very big on loyalty.