CI info, please

Parrothead2222

Reaction score
I'm a high school student in GA and I really want to study either some sort of ASL interpreting program or speech pathology. I have a big state speech competition coming up and I'd really like somehow focus on the deaf community. But I need some help, should I focus on CI's? If so, can some one give me some info on the pros and cons of CI's.
Are CI's the most recent "breakthrough", I guess is the word, in the deaf community, or are there more recent developements?

Thank you so much!

The list of pros and cons are quite lengthy and varies from person to person of whom have obtained a CI.

For me:

pros:
marked improvement in identifying sounds
understanding spoken speech without looking (from time to time)
decipher which voice belongs to who and what gender.
enables lipreading better

cons:

headaches when wearing CI for more than 4 hours

Hi Parrothead... I don't think CIs are the most recent "breakthrough" in the Deaf community.. but it is becoming more accepted.

Pros:
Better lipreading
Alerts to danger sounds
Recognition of sounds
More enjoyment out of music/movies

Cons:
Must be patient w/ speech/hearing rehabilitation program
MAPping for life (or as long you wear it)
Either can not get MRI or get minor surgery to remove the magnet in some impants

here's a question about CIs that might be of interest to you. Wasn't sure where to post so i'll out it here.

one of my friend's recently got a CI, but to put in in they gave him a choice of which sense he wanted to risk losing, feeling in half his face, or taste in half his mouth. They needed to possibly cut a nerve in order to put the CI in. Is that normal? Is this choice given to all CI candidates, or just some of them?

AsianAlan said:
here's a question about CIs that might be of interest to you. Wasn't sure where to post so i'll out it here.