50% of adults play videogames.

Well,,yes!! At 52 I have been playing video games for 30 years. First home game was Atari. I loved Frogger, Centipede, etc.

Now I am on Playstation 3 and playing Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction and Little Big Planet.

Like Bottesini, I have played video games for more than 30 years. Right now I have had XBOX 360 console with four controllers and I have played Call of Duty: World at War, NHL 09, NFL 09, NCAA Football 09, GoW2 and a few more cool games. :D

Well,,yes!! At 52 I have been playing video games for 30 years. First home game was Atari. I loved Frogger, Centipede, etc.

Now I am on Playstation 3 and playing Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction and Little Big Planet.

30 years, huh? You must had Atari 2600 in first place. You scream on Christmas, "The best gift... ever!"

Interesting statistics

I'm quite sure most adults would be well versed in the videogame world of this age. Some of the people in their 50's now were 20-30's when the amiga and nintendo and etc came out in the 70-80's, so it's more of a society boom during that time which may have lead them to play now, as progressed over the years.

The way I feel is that if you've never played a console or PC game your life from age 1 to 40-45 or something, chances are you aren't into games yourself, and are highly unlikely to get "into your game".

However, my personal opinion between the varying difference of gamers is that they should be split into tiers by how serious they play.

What I can think off the top of my head would be like:

Casual - ~10 hours a week, or a few hours every other day
Moderate - ~a few hours everyday
Aggressive - ~ 5 hours a day
Excessive (Serious) ~ 8+ hours a day