I need your help

Lillys dad

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I need some help here. Politics and personal beliefs aside here, as some know I am a cop. I am a sxhool resource officer in a jr. high school that has a "special ed" program. Today is the first day back from xmas braek, and they got a new kid. The faculty was not properly informed of a new student that is deaf and autistic. Because they were caught off gaurd with this kid, they do not have the proper resourcs in place. I am trying to find soem internet based resouces they can use until they get the proper stuff up and running.
I met her at ehr lunch time. SHe does sign a little. I told her my deaf name, she understood it, then looked away. When she looked back a signed it again and asked her if she understood. She did. Then blocked me out. When she was outside, I asked her if she was cold, she was.
As I said, please levase politics, bias and all the other problems you may have with me out of this. I am simply trying to get the teachers soem resources. Her two teachers told me they know "a little sign". But by watching them, I realized that I know more than they do. And I barel;y know any. I showed them aslpro.com and another.
Any help is greatly appreciated. Today is this girls first day at a new school where she doesnt know anyone, and cannot communicate with anyone.
Thak you

Thanks guys! I do not yet know about the IEP. As I said, it seems the girl was put here without the teachers knowing everything about her. They were caught off guard by her deafness. Until they can get the proper protocols in place, I am just trying to at least help the teachers communicate with her, and her with them. I am looking for ideas that they can use to talk with her. She and I did sign briefly today. I signed to her my deaf name, and asked if she got it. SHe signed "yes" back. So she keeps up a bit. I just want to at least provide the necessary tools to reduce frustration levels on her part.