your experiences with interpreters

dbs

Reaction score
I am a student in an interpreter training program. I have a class assignment to survey deaf people about their experiences good and bad using interpreters. If anyone could would be willing to tell me about their experiences it would be really helpful. Thanks.

Is this what you want to ask us? "I would appreciate it if you could tell us about your experience with your interpreters so that I could tell my classmates about it."

When I was in HS, I had an intepreter who always chew her gums. She was nice, and kinda of funny to remember that. My 2nd interpreter had a very hard time understanding in Concept Physics, and she could not catch up what my teacher was lecturing so it wasn't her fault because she never had that class. I bet that my physic teacher was very boring. My 3rd interpreter quit her job because she had no benefit, and got married. My last interpreter was wonderful, and very beautiful. Some of my male classmates stared at her that made them hard-on.

The worst thing that most interpreters quit their job because of no benefit. I don't blame them for that. It is important for them to ask the school department, and make sure that they have benefit before they get a job as an interpreter. Hope that helps.

I'm an interpreter, not a consumer, but here's one that I've experienced recently:

I work in a school, and about a month ago we FINALLY hired a second interpreter (being the only interpreter for 10 kids for 6 months was exhausting). However, she's never really done interpreting work that wasn't one-on-one before, and she's noticeably uncomfortable with it. One thing she does that bugs the kids (and me!) is that she will stop interpreting if I enter the room. Sometimes I'm just in the room to provide help for the teacher, or stopping in to ask a question. But she automatically assumes that because I'm in the room, I'm going to take over.