You know what really confuses me...

xNinjaxAshx

Reaction score
Turning English into ASL gloss..

It confuses me sometimes..

Sometimes it's easy

Other times I'm like HUH?

hmmm I asked a friend who i IM all the time to start using ASL instead of English. She said, um okay i will try. (she is prelingual). Her English grammer is great. So she tried and kept correcting herself. (BTW her ASL is excellent as well) And she kept saying LOL after every sentence. So finally i asked why she was laughing so much she said it just looks weird. I have never written it before, never seen it written. "When i read i think English so this doesn't make sense to me." She asked if i understood what she wrote and i did. My Deaf friends all sign English to me rather than ASL and i wanted exposure to it. She did it the one time and never did it again. She said it makes more sense visually than written.

Too many teachers ask you to write English sentences in ASL syntax, and it's nearly impossible to do because of the conceptual differences between an auditory/verbal language and a visual/spatial language. ASL is not, never has been, and never will be a written language.

Too many teachers ask you to write English sentences in ASL syntax, and it's nearly impossible to do because of the conceptual differences between an auditory/verbal language and a visual/spatial language. ASL is not, never has been, and never will be a written language.

Yea I agree with u. I couldnt do it if I tried. Maybe ASL in print is an ASL video? :giggle:

Usually when I try to do this I have to write alot of descriptions of signs because it's hard to write them with english words.

I'm just want to go out with you... *Exact English*
I want go out with you. *ASL*

What do you expecting writing exact English or ASL version ?