Working with the Deaf (Questions from a hearie)

dapostman5

Reaction score
Hi everyone I am a first time poster here! I hope that I am putting this in the right area, if not please move :P.
I work in the social services field and recently received a deaf client who is 17 years old. This prompted me to visit this site to get a better grasp on the deaf community. I would really like to communicate with him as effectively as possible but it is very rough.
He comes from a family with very little resources and we are trying to help. I do not know ASL, but an interpreter I went to with him explained to me that he has only a basic understanding of ASL and does not have a strong grasp of the language. Another problem is that he has never learned to read very well so words must be carefully chosen when writing.

Any advice or recommendations?

Hi everyone I am a first time poster here! I hope that I am putting this in the right area, if not please move :P.
I work in the social services field and recently received a deaf client who is 17 years old. This prompted me to visit this site to get a better grasp on the deaf community. I would really like to communicate with him as effectively as possible but it is very rough.
He comes from a family with very little resources and we are trying to help. I do not know ASL, but an interpreter I went to with him explained to me that he has only a basic understanding of ASL and does not have a strong grasp of the language. Another problem is that he has never learned to read very well so words must be carefully chosen when writing.

Any advice or recommendations?

Instead of using an ASL terp, use a CDI.

CDI? I am still very unfamiliar with a lot of the lingo and acronyms