Why is it that relationships with age gaps seem to spark such fear in people?

November Gypsy

Reaction score
Obviously, I'm not talking about under-age girls dating 40-year-old men. I'm talking about legal, but sizeable age gaps. My husband and I are 16 years apart. I'm 23 and he's 39. We are very happy and very much in love. We rarely argue, and when we do, it's never a yelling sort of thing. How many couples can say that? Yes, of course, there are challenges. There are times when he's experienced something and so doesn't understand why I get excited about it...and there are times when I can be a little childish. Yes, I'm still forming who I am and he's basically settling down, but we've been married two years, and yes, I am still learning, but rather then love him less, I love him more. On the whole, we are really great for each other. What I want to know is why this seems to be such a huge issue for people who aren't in the relationship? I mean,his parents are fine with it and love me, and my parents don't mind the age gap (but don't really get along with him...that's another story). It's people we don't know or barely know that give the looks or make the comments. I've had a former employeer ask if he ever feels guilty about robbing the cradle. How rude is that? Again, I'm not talking about children dating adults...but adults dating and marrying adults. I can't understand why people insist there must be something wrong when there isn't. And, no, I'm not a gold digger...we don't have much at all in fact as far as things go, but we have a wonderful relationship and a beautiful baby, and I think that counts for more then anything you can buy.

So what do you think? Why this huge stigma and open bad attitudes?