what works for you?

hurleysrus

Reaction score
What works for me may not work for you. Why? Different circumstances, situations, beliefs, and maybe even social pressures. As I was growing up my progressive hearing loss was denied and ignored. I had no exposure to Deaf or deaf so when my hearing left me completely I was lost and floundered. When I heard I could regain some of that I jumped. Was this the best answer? Maybe yes, maybe no. I have learned a new way to living. I have learned people are more honest with their body than with words. However normal hearing assume my implants make my hearing" normal". They do not. Deaf seem offended that I miss what I used to have. I still flounder in hearing situations, just not as bad. I can pass for hearing but get mad I need too. I am slow learning ASL and that frustrated me to. But don't get me wrong, I am happy with my choice. You take the good with the bad. I am still learning to cope.

I would really like to know more about your deaf hood, how you cope or not, and how you decisions work FOR YOU.

I went to a college that had only 25 deaf students. I wish I would have went to RIT or Gallaudet where I would have met more deaf people. I'm 36 now. It's kind of late. I missed out on the good stuffs when I was young. By the way, I did get a bachelor degree, but I don't care about it.

yeah gally while young was aswome (understatement)....damn those gally parties....oahhhhh.....ntid too hoahahahaha
phew
time o my life
those Deafie chicks at gally
meow!!!

I went to a college that had only 25 deaf students. I wish I would have went to RIT or Gallaudet where I would have met more deaf people. I'm 36 now. It's kind of late. I missed out on the good stuffs when I was young. By the way, I did get a bachelor degree, but I don't care about it.