:wave:

Marj

Reaction score
Hmmm?

Hi! I'm a newbie so call me Marj...

It's an M on the heart.

anyway I have this thing bugging me... but first let me explain something

A while back when I was younger (I'm 17) I used to be afraid of going outside or to stores alone because I didn't want to run in a hearing person because if he happened to talk to me and sees that I couldn't reply or didn't understand him, he'd see me as freak...I know I know I sound :crazy: but It had an major impact on my social skills.. I took up counsueling cuz of my granny said that she was getting worried about me and stuff.

That was years ago. Now I'm pretty popular in my school, ASD, (american school for the deaf) in west hartford...

I've been wondering if this has been a problem for one of youse?

:naughty: Marj

Last edited:
No, it hasn't really been a problem for me. If a person looks at me weird, then it's that person's problem... not mine.

NO cuz I can talk.......I didnt even know I was deaf, just that people just couldnt understand me LOL..........

Originally posted by BabyPhat21
NO cuz I can talk.......I didnt even know I was deaf, just that people just couldnt understand me LOL..........

that to me sounds totally deaf racial bias! me i have had an occurance when i didn t relize someone was deaf or i was not relized by the hearing person that i was deaf, i would just simple point to my ears and shake my head and immeditely have them write EVEN though i can talk i perfer it written down never know if i miss somehting important.... SO thats the way i survived in my world!

I have had similar problems however sometimes ppl dont recongize me as a deafie bc i read lips and talk so thats the other thing

yes that's a good skill: reading lips.. but suppose you read it wrong and said something that would piss that person off? Happened once to me and I ended up with a bruise on my face =\

I'm hearing, an interpreter-to-be, so I hope you don't mind if I reply.