Wanting to learn

Oracle

Reaction score
Hi. At the risk of sounding ignorant, I am hear to learn about the deaf community and about sign language. I am ultimately looking for someone who will, of sorts, become an online tutor for me. i am not taking formal classes, this is mostly for my own benefit. I used to be a relay operator for Sorenson IP Relay and have always been fascinated by the deaf and hard of hearing community. I am looking for someone who has the time and patience to attempt to teach me via video chat. i am not looking to "hook up" or by any means to make it a sexual experience, but do hope to gain a good friend who wouldn't mind teaching me so I can teach my daughter. I appreciate any responses and hope to find someone out there who can become a lifelong friend.

Oracle, just go to the sign language class and there will be other students willing to practice signing with you in person. On-line signing is not a good option. Also you need to go to the deaf events and do some signing with them. If your daughter is deaf, then that is great that you can sign with her. Right on! ASL :rockon:

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum. Enjoy reading and posting all the threads here. See you around here. :wave:

No my daughter isn't deaf, but I have taught her sign since she was very little. She is three years old and I work from home, and because I have taght her a bit of what I learned through classes I was able to take at school and from working at SIP relay, I have a way to communicate with her that has done a great deal of good I think. As far as the One Line signing, I am not sure what that is.

Edit: Sorry, read that wrong, on line signing :P