Want to be an Interpreter but I think I have a small problem

shortie90

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Ashley. I'm studying at a private university in Sign Language Interpreting Studies. I will finish up in one more year with my B.A.

My problem is I'm double jointed in my fingers.

Can I still become an interpreter?

That's a very strange question. Probably the strangest one I've heard on AD in a while...

If you know how to sign clearly, then you're fine. Yes, you can still be an interpreter...

Have your instructors said anything was wrong with the way you've been signing? If not, then I don't know what the problem would be.

How could you go three years to an interpreting program, since you say you graduate in a year, without knowing if you can sign well?

It seems to me that you might like to attend to any deaf events and see for yourself if you think you can do it or not.

No nobody has said anything. My teachers say I sign well, I just didn't think of it till a couple days ago.

I just I ask because I just wanted to be safe. Thank-you for the advice.

Now that is funny! I am deaf and also double-jointed. No problem with signing, thank you.

No nobody has said anything. My teachers say I sign well, I just didn't think of it till a couple days ago.

I just I ask because I just wanted to be safe. Thank-you for the advice.

hhmmmmm.... did somebody just point it out?

Hello, my name is Ashley. I'm studying at a private university in Sign Language Interpreting Studies. I will finish up in one more year with my B.A.

My problem is I'm double jointed in my fingers.

Can I still become an interpreter?

well... let's see...

a few weeks ago - I attended a deaf show and the guy on stage signed about a wonderful story about his life..... and he has only one arm.

a few months ago - I went to Disney Walt for vacation and I had a terp for the show..... and her hands were abnormally small for her size and didn't move like normal hands.