vrs,captel,ip,aim..Help!

Callmemum

Reaction score
I'm so confused with all the types of relay services etc. If anyone can tell me: what do I use if I don't want video, i'm crappy at signing... I can speak fine but only hear a little bit. I want to read captions, but speak to the party with my voice. I'd like to hear the other party and get captions, but not absolutely necessary. Captions are mandatory as I don't sign well yet but am at proufound deaf level. I do read lips pretty well, but no one I know will use a video phone anyway! I have an iPhone 3gs, no front camera, and whatever I use must be over wireless or 3G as voice calls are 40 cents/ min. Anyone know which service might work? Thanks so much!

I'm pretty new to the relay services too but I think you should try Captel since you can talk and you prefer caption. (you may even qualify for a free phone depending on your state). Its where you talk to whoever you want to call and they hear you, the interpreter does not interfear with the call but only gives you caption (as your hearing whats being said also). :

CapTel - CapTel Telephones

There is also something similar for cell phone users:
Hamilton CapTel: Mobile CapTel

VRS is something for someone who wants to use sign language as a form of communication. I plan on getting it when I feel I'm more fluent with the language.

Hamilton Captel will also work on computers, I think. You can call anyone on a cell phone, even a crappy old cell phone that is not a smartphone, and the captions can come up on your computer screen. So you talk on your cell to the other person, and the other person's comments come up on the screen.