VESID, SSD, SSI, SSA experience story/question

katz4life

Reaction score
Something popped up in my mind. It made me really wonder how to answer the solution that I had never thought of which I should have or ask long time ago.

I hadn't heard or learned about SSI, SSD, SSDI, etc. until I was 23 years old. But I only knew a word "welfare" and SS for retirees when I was young. So when I graduated from High School (mainstreamed with a private interpreter hired by my mother, but he wasn't from VESID company) and planned to go to community college at full-time. That was when I learned about VESID stuff and met the VESID conselor for only about Interpreting provider and we signed the contract that VESID took care of payment cost for the interpreting service that I needed for my college classes. It was like, 10 grand or more per semester. Anyway, but when I was seeking for a part-time job while being in college like a lot of hearing students do work part-time or can be full-time while they're in college...in order to support themselves on neccesties like for car gas to drive to work and school, food, apartment on their own, and bills. VR conselor told me that I'm not allowed to work while in college is because of my signed contract for interpreting service reason. He said if I don't follow its policy rules and find out about me having a part-time or full-time job and they would have cut off the contract, it means VR won't support me with the cover fees on interpreting service for my school. My parents couldn't afford these nutty expensive service. They paid only for my school tuiton alone.