VCO experiences

hugoboss84

Reaction score
Hi all,

I would like to know if anyone could give me their experiences on VCO technology please. I am new to the technology and though I do know how it works, I am not confident about buying it yet. And neither do I want a TTY as I can atleast speak and hear to some extent. Is VCO a better choice than buying those 50DB+ amplified telephones? I dont know places in America where I could go and try them out. I am in Canada, and I have tried out a few places but they have a limited variety. Thanks.

I've used most variations of VCO.

The most common "plain VCO" out there that I've seen is acquiring an Ultratec combination TTY/VCO phone like this:

Combination Amplified Telephone, TTY and VCO Phone from Ultratec: SoundBytes

In the U.S., one would simply have to dial 711 from that phone to get to a VCO Relay service. The person with the VCO phone would use their voice to talk to the person they're calling, and then when they are done speaking, they say, "Go ahead." That signals to the person they're calling to go ahead and speak their mind. Everything that person says will then be typed to the VCO phone user. It's not very fast, but it's passably fast. People who talk to fast will be asked to slow down so that everything can be typed to the VCO user. When the person speaking is done, then they say, "Go Ahead" or "GA" for short. That means it's the VCO users turn. Repeat ad naseum. This kind of technology should be available from realy services in Canada.