Update on my son

Elliotts Dad

Reaction score
I thought I would update from this thread

http://www.alldeaf.com/hearing-aids-cochlear-implants/71373-1st-has.html

Elliott has had his HA's about 4 months now and is doing really well, at least as far as understanding speech goes. He still doesnt talk that much but he is learning more signs and using them. They got him into 3yo preschool a year early and he seems to like it. The teacher is using a FM system for him and he is working with a speech therapist and deaf/hoh teacher there as well. They tell us what an adorable angel he is at school and we wonder if they are talking about the same kid, lol. He runs around here like a maniac!

It seems now that his sister may have some hearing loss as well in one ear. She had 2 tests that showed this but we are having a BAER test in 2 weeks to confirm and go from there.

Awe!! Best of luck. Seems like your son is doing well. I'm sure your daughter will also.

I'm also a HOH preschool teacher. You'd be surprised by how school can tame the wildest kids at times. Does the center your child goes to have the V.P.K program?

The special ed school that my 4 year old goes to says the same about him. That he is an angel and is very well behaved but at home, he is the opposite. I am a deaf teacher and the parents of my 4th graders say the same about their kids.."Wow, they are well behaved at school??" lol

Sounds like he is doing well!

Sorry to hear your daughter may now be experiencing problems. But I am glad to know your son is doing so well. Why is it that the child who behaves so well in school never comes home?:roll:

you have beautiful, happy children! congratulations, and good job, dad!

What a cutie!!

Reading your post was like having a flashback, lol! I used to tell people, "No, wait...I'm P.J.'s mom." thinking that they had him confused with a less active and strong willed kid!:giggle:

Glad to hear that Elliot is doing so well. Be proud, dad.