Thereapy vs. Enhacement

Willow Brugh

Reaction score
Hello. My name is Willow Brugh, and I am an undergraduate honors sociology student at IU.

What interests me is alterations upon the human body for both purposes of therapy as well as for advancement. I believe your community has a lot to say on this subject. Discussion already takes place in the group about cochlear implants, but I'd like to know how to you feel about a different sort of biotechnology. Please let me know what you think of the following scenario. Some follow-up questions are offered, but you can ignore these or expand upon them.

Thank you for your time. I know these things take effort, but again, I think you will have important things to say about the subject. You can also e-mail me at {Mod's Edit - Email address has been removed; Please send a PM to the poster to request an email address.} if you'd prefer more anonymity.

Ann has a heart attack at age 34. The expected lifespan for her life-style and country of residence is 92. Unless she gets a different heart she will die. Several options exist for a new heart. She can receive a donated transfer heart, which may be rejected and will likely not last her to the expected age of death. She may be a bio-mechanical heart that will take her to the expected lifespan, but no further. She may also get a fully mechanized heart which is nearly guaranteed to take her to 150 and quite possibly further. This heart system also monitors other bodily functions, and forces a sustainable coma if any vital signs drop until health is restored.

Possible Follow-Up Questions:
• Which, if any, of these options should Ann choose and why? Is there somewhere on this scale you would like to see an option but don’t?
• What are the positives and negatives of this choice?
• Why didn’t you choose any of the other options?
• What about a person’s life expectancy makes them human? Why?
• Is someone who has willfully advanced themselves beyond what is “normal” still human?