Studying isn't helping me pass the tests as I want to be...

Reaction score
I have been studying more than I expected out of myself. I would normally study a week, nonstop until the day of the test and class. I've tried rereading it over it repeatedly. I've tried flash cards and STILL not remembering any of them.

My next method is write it all down repeatedly until it becomes natural to remember, but it's not fun to absorb.

So, what other ways are there to study? What's your trick/tactic? I'm trying to study smart, but nothing seem to click. Colors hurt my eyes, snack rewarding doesn't help much, and no study partner either. Never been exactly comfortable with studying others and discourages me a lot.

I enjoy writing, but I want it to actually stick in my head for once! I'm studying psychology and I really just want to receive a B+ for once. This teacher grades by 200 points...I try to mentally forget it and focus on what I remember, studying, and learned from class. I have read the chapters 3rd times now. I went over my notes. This is getting ridiculous for me now...I really need to get a B+ for once!

Any ideas?

You're probably not a rote-memorization type of a student. You probably need another method of learning.

Now, I don't know why I don't remember things about products I sell very well, but I can recite the Greek alphabet even though I've been out of Greek Row for 23 years, and I can tell you the VID number to a car lost in a wreck in '90, a car that I had and later sold in 2000, and the current Jeep I have now. WHY?? It's useless except as a long-ass password or something like that.

Or... Have you considered the possibility is that it's NOT because you can't do it, but because it's not important to you, so you won't commit it to memory, or that you don't have something tangible to help you remember it.