Speedlearning signs

dracotkk

Reaction score
I have a serious question regarding signing, and learning them. I hear these people say, "I've learned several hundred signs in this few-several week period", Do any of these people actually retain this knowledge after a fair amount of time? It sounds like cramming and memorization, but doesn't neccesarily mean it is true... Now i've been learning sign language for about 6 months now, quite frankly, I'm accepting of the speed at which i'm learning it. I'm barely getting to where I can make sentences without having to fingerspell an entire sentence. I can't really tell what others are saying via asl yet though.

Question though is cramming signs actually successful in the long run?

It would depend on a lot of things...

If you were an English-speaking person who knew BSL (British Sign Language), then you could probably learn ASL quickly.

If you experienced some ASL in the past, but didn't apply it for a while... you might learn quickly again.

If you were learning ASL and applied it in an signing environment, then you might learn quickly.

Alone, it can be difficult.

Continued use of and exposure to sign is really the key to success when it comes to retaining what one has learned. As the saying goes, "Use it or lose it." I think that applies perfectly to ASL. When I learned ASL, PSE and SEE in 1995, I had the chance to apply my skills by communicating with other Deaf and deafblind people at social events on a regular basis. The more I used sign, the easier it was for me to remember. I also used a tactile interpreter for the first time in 1996 at an AADB (American Association of the Deaf-Blind) conference. Because of the skills I gained in being able to use sign on a daily basis, using a tactile interpreter wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be. :) Consistent useage and practice is key.