So I interpreted today, but was I right?

rjcon88

Reaction score
At work this morning, our union rep just showed up out of the blue. The same person that we have been trying to get into contact with for quite some time now. One of my other coworkers wanted to bring up the subject of deaf drivers to him personally. I ended up terping for him. He said I did a great job, but my question to you guys is: Should I have interpreted, or should I had just let them figure out another means of communication since I really doubt I did a good job? Keeping in mind that I've been signing for maybe 6 months or so.

I was just curious as to what you guys had to say :D Oh and please be brutally honest.

At work this morning, our union rep just showed up out of the blue. The same person that we have been trying to get into contact with for quite some time now. One of my other coworkers wanted to bring up the subject of deaf drivers to him personally. I ended up terping for him. He said I did a great job, but my question to you guys is: Should I have interpreted, or should I had just let them figure out another means of communication since I really doubt I did a good job? Keeping in mind that I've been signing for maybe 6 months or so.

I was just curious as to what you guys had to say :D Oh and please be brutally honest.

You've only been signing for 6 months yet you jumped in there to interpret? Kudos to you! I've been at this business for over 2 years and i'm sure I would have screwed up most heinously. :doh:

Wow!

I'm hearing, old NERD just starting to lean ASL, and I look at some of the vlogs and just want to give up. I can catch one sign in four (albeit five seconds behind) and I know that I am completely missing the subtle variations in the signs that I do recognize.