Smile with HA / CI ?

cammomile

Reaction score
Hello,

As a gradually hearing loss, I have felt both wearing and not wearing hearing aids. I have been wearing my hearing aids for about two years and now is considering for cochlear implant. I wonder if any of you find it's difficult to smile with your hearing aids or cochlear implant?

With HA, if I smile, my HA will make a feedback sound. And this really change my personality at all corner. I was a smiley girl, even my friends always wonder why I always smile anywhere and everywhere. I can't answer it, maybe that's who I am.

But since I wear a hearing aids, I seldom smile, and my friends think that it's because I lost my hearing. Yes I think they're not wrong, to loss my hearing is something like losing something so precious in my life. But not only that, I also lost my precious smile, I can't smile as I did before because of this hearing aids because it keep making a feedback noise. I feel so ugly now since I can't smile as I did before.

Just curious, any of you who cochlear implant users, have difficulties to smile? Does the internal processor location disturb any of our facial nerve? Does cochlear implant external processor also make a feedback noise like hearing aids?

I also like doing physical activities, such as sports, arts, or dancing. How can we do all of that activities with hearing aids? or cochlear implant?

Thank you!

Last edited:
I had CI since age of four and I never had trouble smiling....

You can do sports, but it just depends on the sports.... for example, swimming, you don't wear that... but if you play soccer, you can wear hearing aids/CI....

You can do Arts and dancing as well with CI/hearing aids....

Pretty much you can do anything with those on.... it just really depends on the situation.