Skype ASL practice with other baby boomers

podiecat

Reaction score
Hi, I'm older and HOH, and have been trying to learn ASL longer than my signing shows. Certainly I lack confidence but I'm trying to join in, make connections and improve my signing.

Rather than feel even more out of my league with the hip,young signers in the google+ group, I would like to practice and make new friends with people who are over 50 like me. Just because I have studied and practiced every day for several years, does not mean I can access that info in my brain when I want. We all remember those signs that personally pertain to our lives some way easier than others... and I at a slower speed with many very foggy "Duh" moments.

So.... If other Boomers would like to try skype with No Voice, please pm me and we can work out a time.

I am very new to skype and did have a fun time, no voice, with Birdlady yesterday. Can anyone give pointers to help with having a clearer video picture and be able to see each other sign more easily?

Get fast internet connection, like fibers connection, and have bright light bulb set ready (not too bright) near you so that others would see you clearer.

I know those are probably the obvious ones to point out, but maybe you should consider get a good quality webcam if you aren't satisfied with your on-monitor camera or webcam.

I recommend logitech webcams, they're supposed to be top-notch.

I recommend logitech webcams, they're supposed to be top-notch.

We use Logitech Quickcam Orbits (720p) for our ASL coursework. They nag you every time you start them up to register the software, even if you already have. Sometimes if you watch some of what you've already recorded and then go back to try and record some more, the camera won't switch back on. When you only have an hour in the computer lab to do your assignments you don't have time to fight with unreliable equipment and bad software.

We're not fans of them.

Thanks for the replies.