Signing with Left and right hand

sparrow2

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm currently self-taught, and I think I thought I was signing in ASL, but maybe it's more like signed english, because I'm signing what I say right?

Well, until I can begin taking classes in the fall, I'm studying by watching videos. Since the person who is demonstrating the signs is facing me, does it matter which hand I use to sign father, mother? or as long as it's in the correct location on the body it conveys the correct meaning?

Also, I got confused with the sign "come" and "go"; it seemed to look the same to me, but the motion was fast. Is there a difference between the two signs?

Any help would be appreciated.

I've always been taught that you always sign with your dominant hand. If the sign requires two hands and one hand moves, the hand that you should move is your dominant hand.

Wirelessly posted (Blackberry Bold )

Typically you sign with your dominant hand. I do know a few lefties who sign right handed though. The big "no-no" is flippeding back and forth between hands - signing some right handed, others left handed.

Yes - you're not using ASL at all. It's likely you're not using signing space to illistrate time, space, speed, etc, so you're not using PSE/CASE either, unfortunately

To be honestly, it sounds like you've taught yourself some signs and made up you're own "language-like system" instead of studying the grammar etc along with the signs (there are many sources to learn basic ASL sentence structure both online and in books).

This is the main reason we don't recommend people teaching themselves - they end up inventing, instead of learning.

It's important for people to understand that ASL is a complete language of it's own. It is not "English made into signs" and just like French, Spanish, German or any other complete language, ASL has it's own unique sentence structure, grammar etc. Which is a critical component of ASL as a language.