Reintroducing myself..

bwright6

Reaction score
Hi,

I've made a number of posts, but I haven't been on since 2009 (feels like an eternity away, but it wasn't, really...) so I thought I'd reintroduce myself! I recognize a few people on here, but there are so many members... Anyway, I'm Ben, and I recently graduated with my bachelors in English from OSU, and I am now a Deaf Education graduate student. I start my first observation this fall at the school for the Deaf, and I'm quite excited!!

Oh, and yes, I am deaf. I was raised orally, I have two cochlear implants, and I strive to be a member of the Deaf community. I do not like my implants, but I wear them for practical purposes. I have been learning ASL for quite some time now (ASL 1-4 at the college, etc.) and need to become proficient at *some* point, if I want to be a deaf educator..

I'm quite excited to be back, and I hope to gain a lot of insight for when I become a deaf educator. I am deaf myself, yes, but I have a lot to learn. By the way, I'm the only deaf person in my program... I will gladly talk to you about my program if you ask.

Hope to type with y'all soon!! :wave:

:welcome: to AllDeaf forum. I guess you were busy with college courses and don't have time to discuss or debate on any topic that you want to discuss about. I hope you can stay on and do more posting. So have fun with us. See you around here. :wave:

:welcome: to AD! I am a teacher for the Deaf at a Deaf school myself. Best of luck with your observation..I dont miss those days! I like having my own classroom and my own way of teaching. lol

Beb, don't worry, I'll be around! I did get a tad busy during my undergraduate. Shel, I remember you, nice to see you again!