Re-Inroduction

codiberry

Reaction score
Hello!
I haven't been on in several months so I thought it appropriate to introduce myself again.

I'm Codi, I'm a nursing student in Illinois but I am moving in December back home to Oklahoma. I feel that in the medical field, having a firm knowledge of ASL is a very useful thing especially when moving to a town that isn't very far from the Oklahoma School for the Deaf. I am planning to go on to be a Midwife (home birth hopefully) and I feel that if I am fluent in ASL that with also open up this option to the Deaf and HOH mothers as well.

I have always wanted to learn ASL and Deaf culture (all culture really) fascinates me.

Okay enough babble! But feel free to message me, I love making new friends.

Welcome to alldeaf!
Ooh I really wanna study midwifery too! And a big shout to you in oklahoma from Ireland!:)

Welcome to alldeaf!
Ooh I really wanna study midwifery too! And a big shout to you in oklahoma from Ireland!:)

LMAO! I want to finish my Midwifery training and move to Ireland! I was born in America but my family is from County Cork and Kilarney (back about 3-5 generations).

Welcome, Codi and :thumb: on learning ASL. I often hear of problems the deaf person usually face in the hospital.

Welcome, Codi and :thumb: on learning ASL. I often hear of problems the deaf person usually face in the hospital.

:ty: I have seen the problems people have in person. I did a little emergency 'terping (HORRIBLY mind you bc I did A LOT of finger spelling) when I was in the working in the ER because they were having trouble finding the actual interpreter. That was one of my catalysts for wanting to improve my ASL. I'm mostly self taught from books and such.