questions for deaf parents with hearing children

thatolikxd

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am currently studying psychology in college and one of my assignments is to interview the hearing children of deaf parents and the deaf parents about their hearing children. Even if you don't feel comfortable being interviewed I would appreciate answers to these questions:

1. how do you think deafness has impacted your parenting or your relation to your child?
  2. for the deaf parents, do/did you wish that your child was also deaf or if you were able bodied? If so, why?
  3. for the children of deaf parents, do you feel like having deaf parents significantly impacted your experience growing up? If so, in what way?
  4. for the children of deaf parents, did you feel like you had to take on some adult responsibilities in the hearing world for your deaf parents? If so, how?
  5. for deaf parents, did you feel a disconnect with your hearing child as you were raising them and were there any challenges in raising your child because of that disconnect?
thank you so much for your answers I really appreciate it! If i said anything wrong or offensive please let me know, I mean no offense or harm, I just want to learn and understand.

Hi. I can only speak from a late-deafened perspective. I became deaf abruptly due to injury in March of 2022, so it was definitely life changing. I can answer at least one of your questions.

1. how do you think deafness has impacted your parenting or your relation to your child?