Plug for Sonic

November Gypsy

Reaction score
Since I started going deaf relatively recently, I am still new to some of the oddities of human behavior on that point. For instance, I didn't realize that a lot of drive-through food places will give you trouble if you ask to order at the window. I've tried to order at the window (instead of through the microphone, which doesn't allow me to read lips) and been told to go around again and order through the microphone. No joke. Obviously, I gave up on it, I don't have a huge sense of ego, but even I won't take that. But today, I was hungary. Really hungry. I had errands to run, my baby was in the car, and I didn't have time to grab something from home (even if I'd had something to grab)...so I braved a drive-through again for the first time in a year without a hearing person in the car (excluding, of course, my baby). I went to Sonic. Not only was the guy really kind, but he spoke clearly and slowly so I could easily read his lips, he motioned things to make what he was saying clearer, and he was all around just pleasant. It was reallllyyyy nice. He gave me no trouble about ordering at the window (I know you can have carhops come out, but my Sonic also has a drive through window...since it was cold this morning, I didn't want to make the carhops come out). I reallly really really appreicated it. So, anyway.....thought ya'll would appriecate that! :D

I think that is great! I think people should contact fast food corporation home office to tell that story and let them know how rude some of their employees are and how they get more business with better customer service by following Sonic's example. I don't think I have hearing loss but I do hear high pitch and static over voices and sometimes I can't hear at drive-up and sometimes I get frustrated and leave.

That's great to hear.

I've never really had problems cuz the people at the window are friendly.