Opposite of CI; Would you install an "Off-switch" to shut off your ears?When and Why?

Hear2much

Reaction score
I have a rare hearing condition that forces me to think of hearing differently from anyone I have ever known. I have significant hearing loss for very small bands of frequencies. What this means is that certain specific frequencies are not picked up by both of my ears. Like a dog whistle. Fortunately the frequencies do not match for both of my ears so as long as both of my ears are exposed to hear something, I will hear it almost perfectly. The hearing loss I hardly notice. My hearing tests quite well for speech etc. and I am a musician with great hearing ability for deciphering sounds. I can listen to a symphony and then write out pretty much all the music for each instrument even though it is happaning all at once, not an easy thing to do for most hearing musicians and I am thankful for these abilities.
Here is my problem though; this awkward condition causes an adjustment mechanism in my ears to try and compensate for the hearing loss and ends up interpereting sound INCORRECTLY for me which comes in the form of distortion and extra sounds that aren't there, especially with high volume levels. I can hear very quiet sounds very well, but put me in a restaurant with people talking and it is hard to have a conversation sometimes. In addition my ears generate sound (they put a very small very sensitive microphone in my ear) like a decompressing squeak. I have gone through a number of treatments to remedy this situation. My left ear is the only one that bothers me now and I am going to have a hearing aid made for it that will help.

I always hear ringing (tinitus). It drives me crazy and sometimes it is my ears making those sounds, sometimes I just hear it, but it's really there.