Nic ????

codaterp

Reaction score
I am an Interpreter who works primarily in education and for religious ceremonies as well. I have been interpreting for 16 years. I never completed a program, but I have taken many courses over the years to maintain my state license for educational interpreting. I never felt the need to invest in national certification because it would not benefit me in my place of employment (which I love and plan to continue doing). However, a few months ago I decided that I wanted to go for NIC certification for myself. After becoming an RID member I found out that in order to take the performance test after June 30th, I will need to either have an associates degree. I also noticed that there is an alternative to the associates degree. Does anyone know what the alternative to the associates degree would require?

I don't know what that alternative would be. Have you called RID office or you can look at the website RID - in the Frequently asked questions. Hope that helps you :)

Here's the information from the RID website:
There will be alternatives to holding a degree. The Certification Council recommended equivalent alternatives in lieu of the educational requirements that the RID Board of Directors approved. These are:
• life experience: a portfolio assessment would be prepared by an accredited college or university;
• years of professional experience: (a) national certification would be considered; and (b) a portfolio assessment would be prepared by an accredited college or university;
• years of education: a person would need at least 60 college credits in defined categories below to be equivalent to an associate's degree and 120 credits for a bachelor's degree.
Categories of credit for equivalencies (Nine credits must be completed in each category. Fifteen credits can be completed in any area of study):