Newbie here-- hi there!

RandomHearie

Reaction score
Hello there, I'm an ASL student (I can hear the groans now) and I think Deaf culture is interesting (because everybody's just dying to be somebody's research subject, right?). I'm also a fiction writer and one of my characters is Deaf. (I'm starting to sound like a list of Things Every Deaf Person Wants To Hear, huh? Yeah, sorry about that.)

Nice to meet you all. I figure I ought to introduce myself if we're going to be interacting, right? And we probably will do that a lot, because I'm easily dragged into forum games and silliness, much as I wish I could just stick to what I'm here for. Oh, well.

Which forum, if any, do you recommend asking questions about ASL on? And which, if any, would it be okay to ask fiction-writerly questions on?

:lol:

How about, "Our World, Our Culture"

and "Creative Writing" ?

Hi, and thanks for the welcome.

As for my book, it's the usual: parallel universes, fighting evil, etc. If I go into depth on any plot points, you'll know the story if you ever read it, and that's tantamount to revealing my name, or at least my penname, publicly online... and if I can't do that, I'm stuck with only the most generic descriptions where I've stripped out everything that makes my work interesting! Please feel free to fill in a cliche-ridden "real world teen turns out to be heir to the Kingdom of Gobbledygook" plot whenever I talk about it. ;)

Hello there, I'm an ASL student (I can hear the groans now) and I think Deaf culture is interesting (because everybody's just dying to be somebody's research subject, right?). I'm also a fiction writer and one of my characters is Deaf. (I'm starting to sound like a list of Things Every Deaf Person Wants To Hear, huh? Yeah, sorry about that.)