new and in need of assistance!

terpintraining

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm an interpreting student in Northern California and I need some help. I need to know what the ideal interpreter looks like. What do they do that makes them great? What is it that makes an interpreter bad? Any comments about interpreters, good or bad, would be extremely helpful. Thanks so much!

Welcome to AllDeaf! Enjoy your stay! :thumb:

To answer your question, they just need to be ethical.

Welcome to AD -- where in Northern California are you from? You can PM me as my mother's an interpreter for the Sonoma County district.

Sorry about my recent short answer. What I really mean is...
terpintraining said:
I need to know what the ideal interpreter looks like.
They should dress up as plainly as possible and not in flashy clothes. The more coordinated the outfit is, the easier it is for the students to see them sign. Another good outfit would be something that's only two to three easy colors. (White turtle neck with navy blue, black, or maroon sweater over it and a pair of jeans or skirts that's smooth like maroon, faded, etc. Do NOT wear bright pink t-shirt with hawaiian tropical designed orange/pink/purple/blue/white overshirt and wearing bright stripped pants or skirts! :dizzy:)
terpintraining said:
What do they do that makes them great?
As long as they are friendly and follow the code of ethics, then they will be greatly appreciated and liked.
terpintraining said:
What is it that makes an interpreter bad?
If they are too dull, not friendly, and/or don't really follow the code of ethics properly, then they will be disliked.
terpintraining said:
Any comments about interpreters, good or bad, would be extremely helpful.