Need Some Advice

kathy

Reaction score
I'm a NJ court reporter very interested in the possibility of captioning. This is a very tough thing to do, but I've been working on my realtime reporting skills.
In NJ a court reporter must be licensed (the test has a lower pass rate than the bar!), and many fail. I've been doing this for 18 years. The State decided 3 years back to make continuing education mandatory for us.
Here's my problem. The state may not re-issue my license. I believe under the guidelines I have completed my cont. ed. requirements, they disagree.
One of the things I did was run a program for 3 years at my church where I captioned the services. Many folks are late-deafened and really liked to be able to understand the preacher man. According to the state regs, developing a program is worth 10 points for my cont. ed.
The board doesn't want to recognize what I did. Of course, I could get credit for more English courses, but I already know the diff between affect & effect. I would get points for taking a seminar on realtime reporting -- why not for utilizing what I learned already in 2 previous seminars????? Seems to me there are lots of ADA-compliant lawsuits and the FCC wants captioning, etc., etc. Where are the captioners going to come from?????
I need to make an argument to the Board that my captioning program was a valid program. Frankly, as a court reporter I'm sick of taking testimony about children being molested, fatal car accidents, etc. I thought I was doing something positive with my skills. I don't want to lose my license NOR do I want them to tell me I have to do something else. I want them to recognize that captioning is a real need and court reporters should be encouraged and REWARDED WITH POINTS for doing it. Like I said, it's a difficult thing to do. Harder than learning the diff. between affect & effect.
I'm mad, but I have to be careful when I fight City Hall.
Any advice (except for sue them!!! LOL!) welcome.
- Kathy