My four day visit to RIT...

hugoboss84

Reaction score
I am studying in my final year in Canada, and I went on a recent visit to a job fair at RIT/NTID in October 2006, hoping to network with some employers and possibly secure a good job. I am profoundly HoH and never actually learnt the ASL, since I could speak and interact well and moreover, I have never had the opportunity to mix with the deaf community. So, here is my experience at RIT...

I was actually going to study at RIT, but my plans changed and I was in Canada. I am aware of how good RIT is for those who are deaf/hoh in terms of accessibility, inclusiveness and services. Studying in Canada for four long years, I shy-ed myself away from the crowd usually, because I know that I am the only hearing impaired in a student population of 16,000. Ofcourse, there can be more students who are deaf/hoh but I have not been able to connect with them either. So, basically living and studying in a normal crowd posed to be a very big challenge for me since there are occasional fears of rejection/neglect and its not always easy. I went to a normal high school too, and I was again the only "handicap" there. Moreover, I live on my own without my family since I am an international student.

Moment I went into RIT - it was definitely a big shock!! Half the employers were deaf and were communicating using ASL. And many more normal people still communicate in ASL; its like their second language. I spent four days in Rochester, visiting the campus, meeting the faculty, etc. I was so shocked to see the deaf/hoh students at NTID/RIT communicating easily in ASL, interacting so efficiently and enjoying their lives. They seemed extremely happy, have tons of friends and some are even into serious relationships.