My Formal Introduction

Kalima01

Reaction score
Hi
You’ve probably seen my posts floating around for a bit now but I don’t think I’ve formally introduced myself.

I’m from Perth, Australia (England born though) and I’m hearing.
I’m currently studying Auslan – I have two assessments left (this week!!) then I’ll have my Certificate II in Auslan Studies.

I’ve been studying Cert II for the past two years part time, whilst I work full time as a secretary for an Engineering company. Part time study only allowed for 1 – 2 classes a week in the evenings. My signing is a tad jerky but I’m getting there!

Since my second class I knew I wanted to jump head first into the Deaf Culture and Community. Signing is such a beautiful and expressive language and I’m very humbled and privileged to be a part of learning something so fantastic.

I am a single (just turned) 29 year old woman. I live with my Great Dane and two cats. I am currently a home owner and I recently had to get a housemate to help pay the bills and mortgage.

I never knew what to do with my life, I never went to University or TAFE when I graduated from high school. I worked. I went from job to job, always starting at the bottom and always had to move on once I got to as high I could go. I was sick and tired and depressed.

Before starting Auslan, I didn’t like myself. I was meeting the wrong kind of guys or spending most of my time on my own, wallowing in self-pity and hatred.

I started Auslan as a person interest, mostly to give me a hobby and something to do. From my second class I had made the decision to become an interpreter.